Member of the European Union

Cyprus is a member of the European Union since 2004 serving as Europe’s Middle Eastern outpost and a gateway for the movement of goods inside and outside the European borders.

Accession to the EU has enhanced Cyprus’ attraction as an international financial and business centre, offering investors an EU location within easy access of the main regional markets of Europe, Asia, the Middle East and Africa.

Cyprus adopted the euro as its national currency on 1st January 2008. The elimination of currency transaction costs, the ability to conduct business throughout the eurozone with minimum disruption and the enhancement of macroeconomic stability and investor confidence are the main benefits of the euro adoption.

For further information please visit the Cyprus Investment Promotion Agency CIPA